Pausing with the Tango

A friend was recently describing a tango lesson she had taken in Argentina, and said the teacher emphasized the “pausa”, which means pause in Spanish.  If you have heard or studied Spanish, you may know the vowel sounds of the language. (I just love to hear the au sound…the soft aahhh, rolling into the pure u sound, which has such a lovely flow when said together.) My friend is also an amazing life coach and was using that example in the dance to illustrate the way we can pause, being fully aware of what is going on right now. Ah, yes….open to life’s pauses. In my “must be efficient and productive” mindset, I try to engineer all pauses  that occur.  And then if the pause comes at a time that i didn’t plan….oh, dear. I am not a happy camper.

So, I have made myself more available to the “pausa” this week. At first, it was more like having a talk with myself, when the light turned red , causing me to stop when I had planned to go! Or when Gary wasn’ t yet ready to take Mikey for his walk of the hour, but I was. My  conversation was more about watching, observing, and then questioning, such as, why did I have to make the light, or leave right then for the walk. Interesting discover y was …I really had no reason, other than that was what I had expected.

And then, after the Q&A  episodes,  I started to have a change in my encounters . When little “pausas” presented themselves, I found myself intrigued with their appearance, curious as to what was going on around me, seeing things I hadn’t really noticed, perhaps. I noticed Mikey’s caramel colored eyes, following my every move. And a new small purple flower in our yard that is just starting to bloom, with small bell like flowers. Each felt like a treat, just for me!

Today on the train down to San Diego, I sat on the west facing side of the train down to LA. I usually choose the opposite side to LA, as the train changes the direction its facing in LA and so I like the oceanside views from LA to Solano Beach. But this spot called to me today. I saw so many small parks that I hadn’t noticed before. During one of my glances out the window, I saw a man with a small child on his lap, sitting on the edge of the playground, under the shade of a tree. He had both the boy’s hands lightly held is his and the little fellow was trying to swing the man’s arms back and forth, with lots of energy. And both of them were smiling, ear to ear. I wondered if this was one of their “pausas” for today. What joy! (and it took longer to describe this than it did to drink it all in!)

I love my new awareness of  a pause as a friendly gift from the universe. One of my favorite writers, David , the Psalmist, uses the word “selah” often in his songs ands poems. Alot of times , I would just skip the word, not even read it. And then i found a recent translation that says “selah” means, pause, think on this. So I won’t be skipping it amymore. I will use it as a friendly reminder to think on the “pausas” life is so generously giving!

4 thoughts on “Pausing with the Tango

  1. Thank you so much for a wonderful opportunity to pausa and read your “gift” for today……such a treat. BTW: never knew you were tapping your toe waiting for me to get up and take Mikey out.

  2. Martha, this was such fun to read, so warm and friendly and helpful to others who may want to remember to pause more often. I’m glad you included the information about “selah” too. It’s a real gift, and I’m so grateful to receive it.

Leave a Reply

